Unfinished Short Story 2

The Epiphany

It had been 43 days and countless miles. Amy left Boston in what seemed ages ago. And now, after confronting Bobby and his new girlfriend Jenna she has muddled it all up. Secretly though, the sound of Jenna’s hand as it laid into the cheek of Bobby, a sharp bit of thunder from out the Savannah Desert, rang angelic in her ear. The sight was even more inspiring.

“What the hell are you doing here?” screamed Bobby. It was as though the blood from a thousand angered disciples crying mutiny to Moses ran to his face. He was a candy apple red that Ana never witnessed before.

“Do you have any idea why I’m here?” she pleaded. “Bobby, it took me two days after you left to realize I couldn’t let you go. I think of you every night. You were the closest person I’ve had in my life. If you only could know how much I went through to get here, to be here beside you now, you would truly know how I feel.” She resisted all the temptations to unleash her tears but she wasn’t strong enough.

“Amy, when I left I had no idea how you felt. I used to stay awake at night and think about you. Secretly, when we would take those walks when we were younger, I was so nervous that my palms would sweat. I was too embarrassed to even hold your hand. I’ve always felt like I missed my chance.”

The two embraced and kissed, a long kiss that was worthy of years of waiting. Amy pulled back and realized something she never thought would happen. She felt nothing. There was no emotion, no longing.

“Bobby, I love you.”

“I love you too.”

“I love you and that’s why” she paused, and realizes the words before she can even say them, “I have to leave you.”

“Wait. What do you mean?” replied Bobby, utterly dumbfounded.

“I can’t do this. I feel nothing, Bobby. I’ve traveled through heaven and hell and all I’ve found is Purgatory. Maybe I’ve found a part of me that doesn’t need this endless chasing.”

Amy leaves the room and finally feels what she dreamt of as she stared down the veins of America. There was no need for this man to give her approval, all she needed was to find herself. It was backseats and the open road, that fueling of the soul that Jack Kerouac once found, and as she walked out of the building it was day 1.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment